Select a Country

Government Portal - please select a country below to get more information







South Africa









Latest News

Thu, 22 Jun 2017
Tory Lanez won’t make it to SA, but French Montana’s got your back!...

Mabala Noise may have just avoided a major backlash from fans by introducing Moroccan-American hip-hop artist French Montana as part of the Vodacom Durban July, as Tory Lanez’s “replacement”.

Mhlo Gumede, the label’s spokesperson clarified that French Montana was not a “replacement” for Tory Lanez, but rather he was meant to be a surprise international act. It just so transpired that Tory pulled out as French was announced.

“French was always coming. He was meant to strengthen our line-up and just to ensure that people have the time of their lives! It is just unfortunate that Tory Lanez won’t be able to make it. Naturally we are disappointed, but they gave us a very logical explanation so we understand and we will have him in the future,” he said.

French is said to join R&B sensation Robin Thicke.

The stable revealed French as an addition to the line-up swiftly after they announced that US rapper Tory Lanez would not be able to make it to their Durban July 2017 launch.

The rapper, whose real name is Karim Kharbouch, began trending on Twitter as soon as the announcement was made. The Launch Concert will take place on Friday 30 June 2017 at the Greyville Racecourse.


Read More
Thu, 22 Jun 2017
Why #SocialMediaBlackout failed and trended instead.

A planned protest against the high cost of data crashed spectacularly when it became a trending topic on Twitter.  The protest asked South Africans to do away with social media today under the hashtag #SocialMediaBlackout, but contradicted its purpose by becoming a top trend on a day meant to encourage users to boycott social networks.

Yesterday morning poet Ntsiki Mazwai’s called on South Africans to not buy data and not to log in to their social profiles, in an attempt to put pressure on cellphone providers such as Vodacom, MTN and Cell C to lower their data costs.

Internet analyst and expert, Arthur Goldstuck told Fin24 the fact that #SocialMediaBlackout trended made it apparent that the campaign had fallen short. “But in one respect the trend has highlighted the consumers’ frustration in dealing with the high cost of data.”

He ran a poll from his Twitter account, on the day of the blackout, asking: “Are you joining the #SocialMediaBlackout today? Yes, no, or haven’t heard of it? Please choose one option below.” In three hours 47% of respondents said “I am not joining in”, 45% answered “I haven’t heard of it” and 8% indicated that “I am joining in”.

Goldstuck believed Another reason that led to the campaign’s failure, is the lack of preparation time beforehand. “A campaign like this normally takes weeks to prepare for whereas this campaign was attempted the day after on very short notice.”

He added that the campaign was not geared correctly to have maximum impact.



Read More
Tue, 13 Jun 2017
Firefighters thanked for their brave efforts

Pretoria – Environmental Affairs Minister Edna Molewa has commended firefighters from the Department of Environmental Affairs’ Working on Fire (WoF) programme for their brave efforts in providing assistance to fire authorities in the Eastern and Southern Cape.

“In one of the largest local deployment of firefighting services, WoF has deployed more than 800 firefighters in Knysna and Natures Valley. About 450 of these firefighters are in Knysna forming the bulk of firefighting efforts in the area.

“In the Sarah Baartman District, Working on Fire will have close to 400 firefighters assembled by this afternoon,” the department said.

The department said an additional 50 firefighters from Gauteng, flew into Port Elizabeth this morning to bolster firefighting efforts in the Eastern Cape.

The aviation unit of WoF has also been activated with two spotter planes, four helicopters and one Airtractor 802 water bomber supplementing by the South African National Defence Force helicopters deployed in the Southern Cape.

“Due to the unpredictable nature and fluidity of wildfires, I encourage local communities to heed all warnings from disaster management officials as our firefighters work swiftly to contain the fires,” said Minister Molewa.

Multiple wild fires have engulfed parts of the Southern Cape, in particular the coastal town of Knysna, which led to loss of life and several communities having to evacuate their homes.

The department has expressed condolences to the affected communities in the Southern Cape for the loss of life, injuries and loss of property, and expressed gratitude to the firefighters for their tireless effort on the frontline.

The department said firefighting efforts have been severely hampered by strong gusty winds and with the dry and hot temperatures at times, a number of smaller runaway fires flared up across the greater Knysna area.

Minister Molewa has reiterated the importance for South Africa and Africa as a whole of adapting to climate change, referring to recent natural disasters like the droughts, fires and floods.

The entire country was gripped in one of the most devastating droughts in living memory over the last two to three years with some parts still being severely impacted on by droughts with a negative effect on our economy as a whole.

The Western Cape dams had been reduced to less than 10% of their extractable water before the floods of the last few days.

A similar scenario played itself out in in other parts of the country, with Gauteng being hit by cloudbursts and subsequent flooding.

While the northern parts of the country had heavy rain, in contrast the Western Cape had one of the worst wild fire seasons in more than a decade.

A similar scenario played itself out on a smaller geographical scale in the Western Cape last week, with the western parts of the province receiving heavy rains and the Southern Cape having hot and very windy days which largely lead to the fires getting out of control.

“Although we cannot change the weather, we can adapt to it by using our renewable resources such as water and land wisely,” said Minister Molewa.

The department’s environmental programmes which include Working on Fire, [...]

Read More